2007 National Book Award winners

The winners of the 2007 National Book Awards have been announced and the winners are Robert Hass (Poetry: Time and Materials), Denis Johnson (Fiction: Tree of Smoke), Sherman Alexie (Young People's Literature: The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian), and Tim Weiner (Nonfiction: Legacy of Ashes: The History of the CIA).

More here.

The 2007 National Book Awards Finalists Reading took place at The New School the day before the awards and I was able to listen to the finalists read excerpts from their works. I was most looking forward to hearing Robert Hass read in person but some of the other stand outs were David Kirby, Joshua Ferris, Edwidge Danticat, Arnold Rampersad, and Brian Selznick - whose frenzied reading was chock-full of multimedia and musical goodness. Lots of good books out there just waiting to be bought for the holiday season...

No comments: